Keeping your City and Units Safe while Offline

DeletedUser

I am new to this game, though not new to real-time strategy games. What is confusing me is that I see no way to keep things safe while I am offline. in other games I can send my units off on a task, set to return when I get back online. They can even carry me resources with them (though overnight production I can do nothing about).

My question is, how can I do something similar here? I do not want to wake up every day and find I have been attacked overnight, or while I was at work.

DeletedUser

You can send out your troops to attack a village while offline- find an inactive player farther away and send all your troops. This can't really be done before getting transports, so if this is a big concern of yours, either take out the competition or get boats ASAP. If you have transports and whatnot, and know you will be offline for 8 hours, find a village 4 hours away. Bam. All set. ;)

DeletedUser

Support a strong player, and if you are online, call it back!

DeletedUser

Will that save you from someone that wants to conquer you in the middle of the night? How do you defend against that?

DeletedUser39

Will that save you from someone that wants to conquer you in the middle of the night? How do you defend against that?

There is not much you can do against someone that puts you under conquest (Starts a revolt for revolt worlds) during the night. Your best guess would be to leave a lot of biremes in your harbour, or highten your city wall fast at the start of the server, and play defensive; making yourself a difficult target might safe you quite a few cities, as some players aren't willing to lose troops over a few cities (Which, in my opinion, are players that shouldn't play a war game).